Since Sunday I have been dealing with a cold. Really it's not that much to deal with, but when you add on a couple of kids on top of it, suddenly house chores don't really seem that important. Yesterday, Joe was having a friend over to play after school. Suddenly I saw my house as this huge hoarded mess. (It probably didn't help that I had watched Hoarders.) I pictured the kid coming over and going home and telling his mom how thankful he was that he lived in a clean house after being here. When in reality, he's five years old. I don't think he even noticed that I had cleaned Joe's room or swept my bedroom. Why do I put so much pressure on myself?
Ironically though, after I got started, I wanted to keep going. The truth is I like a clean house. I like to not have to worry if somebody is going to just "pop in" because I have stuff everywhere. Last night I felt good about what I had accomplished. I wasn't overly tired, I just felt good. Unfortunately, I am a COMPULSIVE procrastinator. So, slowly, I am getting in my groove of cleaning the house. Even got some stuff mopped. :) Maybe in a few years my house will be clean all of the time! Ha Ha :) :) :)